High Technology Farming

Welcome to the High Technology Farming working group!

High Technology Farming is a broad concept which refers to a wide range of new tools (Robotics, ICT, Big Data, Earth Observation, etc.). The synergic use of these instruments allows the shifting to the new paradigm of Sustainable Precision Agriculture (SPF). The needs for a shifting towards this new paradigm is well acknowledged at EU level and some papers from EU Institutions already provide good analysis and suggestions.


To facilitate interregional and cross-border cooperation and projects, thus accelerating the uptake of Sustainable Precision Farming in European agricultural systems.

Activities are developing towards two main directions:

  • Interregional Pilot Projects. The Partnership is developing a series of pilot projects based on shared priorities. Two Pilots have already been established (FreshFruit and Podur), other Pilots are under development.
  • A joint undertaking to support interregional shared services among regional innovation ecosystems. The Partnership is aiming at consolidating the Interregional collaboration through a specific governance model that can better connect and support the different Regional Innovation Ecosystems and joint funding operations.


Precision farming; agritech; farm management systems; decision support systems; drones and unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV)

  • Leading regions: Tuscany (IT)
  • Participating regions: Aragon (ES), Autonomous Province of Trento (IT), Basilicata (IT), Bretagne (FR), Catalonia (ES), Central Macedonia (EL), Centro (PT), East Netherlands (NL), Emilia Romagna (IT), Estonia (EE), Extremadura (ES), Flanders (BE), Friuli-Venezia Giulia (IT) Galicia (ES), Gelderland (NL), Kanta-Häme (FI), Limburg (NL), Marche (IT), North Brabant (NL), North East Romania (RO), North Netherlands (NL), Northern Ireland (UK), Norway (NO), Pays de la Loire (FR), Požega-Slavonia (HR), Provincia Autonoma di Bolzano (IT), Randstad (NL), Slovenia, East (SI), South Holland (NL), South Ostrobothnia (FI), Veneto (IT), Weser-Ems (DE), Western Macedonia (EL)